Congratulations to our 2023 Scholarship Recipients!

Available Senior Scholarships – Launch December 2023

Mae Dilliner Lowes Memorial Scholarship

Mae Dilliner Lowes was a lifelong Franklin Township resident. She was born on March 4, 1905 and lived to be 103. Ms. Lowes was a teacher of Art and Music and a licensed beautician. It was Mae’s final wish to establish a scholarship for students graduating from Franklin Central High School. In honor of Ms. Lowes wishes, this scholarship will reward academic achievement and assist in college education of persons otherwise financially unable to afford post-secondary education. Click here for Mae Dilliner Lowes Memorial Scholarship

The Abby Sherwood Memorial Scholarship

Abby Sherwood was a member of the Franklin Central High School Class of 2020 and was an inductee of the National Honor Society. On September 27, 2019, she was awarded the honor of being Franklin Central’s Homecoming Queen, which she accepted remotely via Facetime from her hospital bed. She passed away on October 25, 2019 from complications from a double lung transplant surgery. Abby fought for sixteen years against a rare disease known as Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension. Knowing that her time on Earth would likely be shorter than most, she lived life to the fullest, enjoying her time and experiences with family and friends. Abby loved reading, learning, travelling, listening to music, and watching movies. This scholarship in her memory is to encourage a graduating Franklin Central student to further their education. Click here for The Abby Sherwood Memorial Scholarship

Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship

The graduating Franklin Central High School student must wish to pursue either a two or four year degree in structural engineering, architecture, building trades, drafting, business, finance, accounting or some other field related to building trades at a college or university in the State of Indiana. Recipients must have a minimum grade point average of 2.5 (on a 4.0 scale) and be a graduate of Franklin Central High School. First preference will be given to students who have a strong work ethic and display (displayed) a strong commitment to their school and community. Click here for the Richard H. Crosser Memorial Scholarship

Dr. Elmo B. Carver Memorial Scholarship

Dr. Elmo Carver was born and raised in Indiana. Dr. Carver graduated from George Washington High School, Indianapolis, and Franklin
College, Franklin, Indiana. He began is career in 1959 as a history teacher and coach. Dr. Carver dedicated 27 years of his professional
career to the Flashes. He was a former FCHS Principal and retired as the Franklin Township Community School Corporation Superintendent
in 2006. Dr. Carver was an athlete playing baseball and basketball in high school and college. At the urging of his teachers and teammates,
he decided to attend college. Dr. Carver firmly believed that education was a game changer for him . A strong family man, he worked to
instill the value of education in his children, as well as all of the students that he supported in every aspect of his career. Click here for the Dr. Elmo B. Carver Memorial Scholarship