Ben Schuman Science Grants

The Application Deadline is October 29, 2022 at Midnight

On behalf of the Franklin Township Education Foundation (FTEF), we are thrilled to offer the Ben Schuman Science Grant! Mr. Schuman taught Junior High School Science for 41 years and served 7 years on the FTEF Board of Directors. Mr. Schuman grew up and attended school in Franklin Townhship. In addition to his teaching, he served as a coach and mentor to many students beyond his classroom. He is a terrific Franklin Township historian and proud Flash!

During his teaching career, Mr. Schuman believed in hands-on learning. Mr. Schuman is particularly interested in Biological, Botanical, Earth Sciences, and Climate Control – But, strongly believes there is a need to raise interest in all of the sciences including Physical and Chemistry.




** Remember to send one copy of the Grant AGREEMENT signed by you AND your building Principal.

Send the signed Grant AGREEMENT form to –


6141 South Franklin Road (CTEC)

Indianapolis, IN 46259


Scan and email the signed GRANT AGREEMENT to:

Grant Application

Funding in a Flash


Funding is a Flash is an initiative started in the fall of 2022 and is open to all FTCSC educators and building leaders. The purpose of this initiative is to quickly identify educator/building needs and fund those requests on a monthly basis. Funding requests may be up to $500*
All submitted requests will be reviewed by your building leader and MUST align with at least one FTCSC district initiative. FTEF hopes to receive and fund $500 worth of requests each month. Applications are reviewed as they are submitted.
Requests over $500 should be submitted during our Spring/Fall Grant Programs.
Grant Application

20 Spring Classroom Grants Awarded in 2020!

Our 2019 Major Saver campaign was the best, ever! Because of the tremendous community support, $11,219.24 was awarded from pre-kindergarten through high school – with over 12,000 students impacted!

Because of you! We were able to offer our first-ever Fall Classroom Grant Program!

Our Peloton Bike raffle was a huge success and raised $8050.00! Combined with our Silent Auction Challenge and the tips that we made while selling concessions at a FCHS football game, we had $9,735.00 to share with our educators and students!

Thirteen grants received full funding and include everything from books to gardens!

Wanamaker Early Learning Center received 4 grants.
– Ms. Kristina Burns, “Sensory Path”
– Ms. Katie Land, “WELC Garden”
– Ms. Amy Morrical, “Sensory Items”
– Ms. Genny Hartley, “Social/Emotional Toolkits”

Thompson Crossing Elementary, Ms. Katie Kunkel, “Resources for the Learning Environment”
South Creek Elementary, Mrs. Vick, “Literacy in the Art Room”
Adams Elementary, Mrs. Hilary Huff, “School-wide Peace Corner”

FTMS West, Ms. Kyle Belting, “Nabbing New Nonfiction”

Franklin Central High School
– Ms. Jessica Berg, “Gardening Club Raised Beds”
– Ms. Rae Bosio, “Retablos from Peru”
– Ms. Jennifer Robinson, “You Kick, You Score”
– Mrs. Lisa Laker, “Play like a Pirate”
– Ms. Alison Caldwell, “Practical Printmaking”

Grand total, $9209 awarded!

The remaining $526 was set aside for the 2020 Spring Classroom Grant Program.

Thank you for your tremendous support!

2019 Spring Grant Summary

Amy Steinhofer was selected as our 2019 Hawthorne Grant winner! Ms. Steinhofer is the Pre-School Speech Language Pathologist at the Wanamaker Early Learning center. Her project is entitled: “Revisiting the 3 Rs”

Twenty-two grants were approved for full or partial funding.
Buildings impacted included in this grant distribution of funds: FCHS, FTMSE, CTEC, WELC, Acton, Adams, Arlington, Bunker Hill, Kitley, South Creek, Thompson Crossing

Over 10,600 students impacted!

Coming Soon – Our 2019 1st Annual Fall Grant Program

The 2018 Spring Grant Cycle Recap.  We received 26 grant requests from 25 educators throughout FTCSC!  These requests included a variety of items from vocal development to books for diverse readers to materials for social and emotional learning.
The review process was challenging for the F*TEF Grant Committee, as every request was well-written and meaningful.  We are proud to report 25 or the 26 grant requests received full or partial funding, nearly $10,000.00!
Mrs. Lisa Laker received the Rosalie Hawthorne Grant of Distinction for her “Wade the Water” – Frederick Douglass and the Underground Railroad request.
Mrs. Laker will use the grant funding to visit the Frederick Douglass’ Home and gravesite at Mt. Hope Cemetery, along with Harriet Tubman and Harriet Jacobs sites and 25 Underground Railroad sites in New York.
Mrs. Laker will create a virtual tour to share with FCHS students.
We received the largest number of grant applications from Acton Elementary educators.  Great job, Tigers!

Dianna Miller-Wilson, F*TEF Executive Director and Mrs. Beth King, F*TEF BOD Secretary presented Mrs. Laker with a certificate and special gift.

Acton Elementary Grant Recipients